Team Chad & Rev3

So, I have had my  new bike picture on the main page for a while now.  I guess it is time to tell the story behind the bike.

For those of you who don’t know I am heavily connected into a local charity called Team Chad (www.teamchad.us).  As part of my connection with this charity I am always thinking of ways that I can increase the attention, awareness and fundraising opportunities for this impactful charity.  With this in mind I came up with a crazy idea that I was going to race 52 triathlons in 52 weeks.  So here is how it will work.  From July 2013 through July 2014 I will be racing the 52 races.  My goal was that this race series would be interesting enough that companies would want to sponsor Team Chad, news agencies would want to write about it and everyone else would want to donate in support.

So what is this weird looking bike.  Well, it is an old Zipp 2001 frame that I had Craig Calfee strip down and built back up to be (in my opinion) one of the most modern, aero and comfortable bikes in the world.  I wanted a crazy looking bike that would not blend into transition. It was my hope that a distinct bike like this would generate some buzz for the bike but also some buzz for Team Chad.  Hope it works.

So for the next few months I will be working on the logistics of this series.  However, in the interim I am thrilled to announce that I have joined the most awesome age group team in the world.  I am a new member of Team Rev3.  Rev3 learned about my goals and fortunately decided that they thought it was a worthy endeavor.  In the coming months I will also be talking more about this relationship also.

3 responses to “Team Chad & Rev3

    • That’s a good question. It will be one of my local races..maybe Chattanooga Waterfront. The hardest part of the whole thing seems to be the logistics of the scheduling. I need to dedicate a weekend with a big calendar to get this all buttoned down.

      What does your race schedule look like?

Leave a Reply

