Race 1 – General Smallwood Olympic Triathlon

Race 1 is done. It was a lot of fun to get back at it. This first race was the General Smallwood Olympic Triathlon in Maryland.

You could tell I was gone from the game for a bit. We showed up late. Threw my transition together. Rushed down to the water and jumped in to start the race.

Very warm swim. Really worked hard to maintain a moderate pace. These first few weeks I am trying to acclimate my body to back to back races. I told myself to race this race approximately 30 minutes slower than normal just to see what it would feel like.

Got out of the swim and got on the bike. Few good climbs out of transition that pushed the heart rate a bit. The bike then got very smooth from that point. Hilly but shaded.

Off the bike and then off on the run. Two lap course that hit the same hills we tackled on the bike. I really had to relax on this run. The heat had come out and the hills were painful. This led to a slow run. Usually I’m thinking (on a two lap course) pace for the second loop. Now I’m thinking pace for tomorrow (which is a sprint on the same course).

Hot tough pretty course. Glad to have a hard one under my belt. It was a bit of a kick in the gut; but in a good way. Here is the before:

20130706-205143.jpg

Here is the after:

20130706-205943.jpg

For the race tracking that was a 31.7 mile day.

2 responses to “Race 1 – General Smallwood Olympic Triathlon

  1. Pingback: Rev3… Gone Colonial! | Team Rev3

Leave a Reply

