Races 43, 44, 45 & 46 – Rev3 Rush

That’s right…..we have ticked off 46 races in our year for Team Chad.  Hard for me to believe that we have come this far and excited to tackle the final 6 races.

Rev3 Rush, as discussed in the previous post, was a unique and exciting format.  It was very challenging to race this distance over and over and over again throughout the weekend.  True, these races were short in terms of total distance, but they were a true kick in the gut.  Each one of these races took approximately 30 minutes.  250 yards on the swim, 5 miles on the bike and then a 1.5 mile run….full on effort for 30 minutes takes the toll after a few races.

To give you an idea of this unique format I thought the best way was visually…so here we go:

Image

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

I hope that these pictures gives you an idea of this format.  The chance to race several events from the same venue with the same competitors throughout the weekend was a blast.  I can’t say enough good things about this new race format.  I am hopeful that Rev3 keeps expanding this race format to tracks all over the country.  It caters to beginner racers since the distances are not as daunting and it lends itself to elite fast racing for the same reasons.

To give you another perspective on this race I took a video with my GoPro on the final race of the weekend.  At this point I was pretty fatigued and I wasn’t planning on “racing” the final race but rather just enjoy the experience.  However, as I was heading out on the bike after the swim I heard a teammate of mine from Team Rev3 asking me to help him catch up to the lead pack.  He was one spot out of a third place podium position so he asked for the help….I obliged.  When he caught up the hard work started.  He took advantage of the draft behind me for most of the bike in order to save his legs for the run portion.  I hope the video gives you an idea of what this bike course was like for the racers on the bike:  http://youtu.be/NuIx2JGTe8s   The hard bike wrecked what little bit of speed I had in my legs for my run……I made my way through the run and wrapped up race 46.

Races 43-46 added 26.6 miles to the tally…this brings the total distance to 906.6 miles.  We are so close to the 1,000 mile goal.  This should not be a problem over the next 6 races.

Leave a Reply

